Fiction

    < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 > 
    The Manzoni Family
    By Natalia Ginzburg
    (Arcade Publishing)
    rich story of passions, writing, rivalries, deaths, and war.Set in ducal Italy and post-revolutionary France, The Manzoni Family tells a rich story of passions, writing, rivalries, deaths, and war. It pivots on the figure of Alessandro Manzoni, celebrated Milanese nobleman, man of letters, and author... [READ MORE]
    The Succesor
    A Novel
    By Ismail Kadare, Translated by David Bellos
    (Arcade Publishing)
    A powerful political novel based on the sudden, mysterious death of the man who had been handpicked to succeed the hated Albanian dictator Enver Hoxha. Did he commit suicide or was he murdered? That is the burning question. The man who died by his own hand, or another’s, was Mehmet Shehu, the presumed... [READ MORE]
    Kid Moses
    A Novel
    By Mark R. Thornton
    (Arcade Publishing)
    This lean, raw, and surprising debut is a deeply moving and powerful story of Moses, a nine-year-old survivor of the harsh streets of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. Moses longs for something outside the grim existence he has known. He and his friend Kioso hitch a ride out of the city on the back of a truck... [READ MORE]
    The Disappearance of Adèle Bedeau
    A Historical Thriller
    By Graeme Macrae Burnet
    (Arcade Publishing)
    Manfred Baumann is a loner. Socially awkward and perpetually ill at ease, he spends his evenings quietly drinking and surreptitiously observing Ad?le Bedeau, the sullen but alluring waitress at a drab bistro in the unremarkable small French town of Saint-Louis. One day, she simply vanishes into thin... [READ MORE]
    Funeral Platter
    Stories
    By Greg Ames
    (Arcade Publishing)
    From the author of the award-winning novel Buffalo Lockjaw comes a powerful collection of darkly humorous short stories. A young girl uses a burnt log for her ventriloquist act; Franz Kafka and an unnamed narrator cruise a dive bar for women; a grieving couple stage and execute their own funeral; a son... [READ MORE]
    The Time of Mute Swans
    A Novel
    By Ece Temelkuran, Translated by Kenneth Dakan
    (Arcade Publishing)
    This timely, bestselling novel about a military coup in Turkey, told through the eyes of two children, resonates deeply with events there today. Ankara, the capital city in the heart of Turkey at the crossroads of Europe and Asia, East and West, is a hotspot in the Cold War, torn between communism and... [READ MORE]
    Still Time
    A Novel
    By Jean Hegland
    (Arcade Publishing)
    "A moving, beautiful story about what persists and what doesn't, about what can be repaired and what can't." —Karen Joy Fowler, author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves Until John Wilson met the warm, wise woman who became his fourth wife, the object of his most intense devotion had always been... [READ MORE]
    A Loyal Spy
    A Thriller
    By Simon Conway
    (Arcade Publishing)
    Winner of the Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award, a Contemporary Spy Thriller for Fans of Brad Thor and John Le Carré. The last time Jonah saw Nor ed-Din, he was lying face-down in a pool of icy water in the Khyber Pass. He thought he had killed him, but now the trail of betrayal has come full circle. Friends... [READ MORE]
    Wonders Will Never Cease
    A Novel
    By Robert Irwin
    (Arcade Publishing)
    An Exhilarating, Magical Blend of History and Fantasy Set during the Original Game of Thrones Beginning with the Palm Sunday battle of Towton, the bloodiest ever fought on English soil, Wonders Will Never Cease relates the fabulous adventures of one man and his noble family amid the chaos and political... [READ MORE]
    The Few
    A Novel
    By Hakan Günday, Translated by Alexander Dawe
    (Arcade Publishing)
    “I am here. Where are you?” These desperate words link the two protagonists of Hakan Günday’s raw and fearless novel The Few. Derdâ is an eleven-year-old girl pulled out of boarding school by her mother who, without telling her, plans to sell her as a wife to a conservative tribesman. She goes with her... [READ MORE]
    < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 > 

Back to top