Sports & Recreation

    < 1 > 
    Across the Savage Sea
    The Epic Journey of the First Woman to Row Across the North Atlantic
    By Maud Fontenoy, Translated by Martin Sobolinsky, Foreword by Gerard d'Aboville
    (Arcade Publishing)
    Over the last century only six men had defied the power of nature and successfully rowed across the Atlantic from west to east. Maud Fontenoy, a 2005 Time (Europe) Hero, changed that forever when she became the first woman to do so. In 2003 Fontenoy, a young woman and seasoned mariner, set out from Newfoundland... [READ MORE]
    The Agony of Victory
    When Winning Isn't Enough
    By Steve Friedman
    (Arcade Publishing)
    What makes some men drive themselves to succeed in their chosen sport, no matter how daunting the odds? And what are the struggles that victory almost inevitably brings? Meet the swiftest and saddest cyclist of his time, a man whose craving for speed was outstripped by a terrible urge toward self-annihilation.... [READ MORE]
    A Season with Verona
    A Soccer Fan Follows His Team Around Italy in Search of Dreams, National Character and . . . Goals!
    By Tim Parks
    (Arcade Publishing)
    Is Italy a united country, or a loose affiliation of warring states? Is Italian football (which we Americans know as “soccer”) a sport, or an ill-disguised protraction of ancient enmities? After twenty years in the bel paese, Tim Parks goes on the road to follow the fortunes of his hometown soccer club,... [READ MORE]
    Ring of Hate: Joe Louis Vs. Max Schmeling
    By Patrick Myler
    (Arcade Publishing)
    The definitive book (The Ring) on one of the greatest sports events of the twentieth century, the heavyweight championship bout between Germany's Max Schmeling and America's "Brown Bomber," Joe Louis. More than the world heavyweight championship was at stake when Joe Louis fought Max Schmeling on June... [READ MORE]
    Golf
    The Marvelous Mania
    By Alistair Cooke, Afterword by Jerry Tarde, Foreword by Jack Nicklaus
    (Arcade Publishing)
    Legendary journalist and beloved TV host Alistair Cooke shares his life-long passion for golf in this stunning collection of his best writing on the sport he loved most. On a fateful day in 1964, Alistair Cooke was dragged into Van Cortland Park in New York City to play his first game of golf. He was... [READ MORE]
    Fight of the Century
    Joe Louis vs. Max Schmeling
    By Patrick Myler
    (Arcade Publishing)
    “The definitive book” (The Ring) on one of the greatest sports events of the twentieth century, the heavyweight championship bout between America’s “Brown Bomber,” Joe Louis, and Germany’s Max Schmeling.More than the world heavyweight championship was at stake when Joe Louis fought Max Schmeling on June... [READ MORE]
    Master of Thin Air
    Life and Death on the World's Highest Peaks
    By Andrew Lock, Foreword by Peter Hillary
    (Arcade Publishing)
    Named one of the “Five Adventure Books You Need to Read This Summer” by Backpacker MagazineFor readers of Into Thin Air, riveting high-altitude drama and the passion and drive that inspire outsized mountaineering achievements.Master of Thin Air opens with a fall that the author very nearly could not... [READ MORE]
    Alone
    The True Story of the Man Who Fought the Sharks, Waves, and Weather of the Pacific and Won
    By Gerard d'Aboville, Introduction by Paul Theroux
    (Arcade Publishing)
    This is the incredible true story of one man’s heroic battle against impossible odds, a tale of pain and anguish, bravery and utter solitude, a tale that ends in a victory not only over the implacable ocean but over himself as well.At the age of forty-five, Gerard d’Aboville set out to row across the... [READ MORE]
    Rowing for My Life
    Two Oceans, Two Lives, One Journey
    By Kathleen Saville
    (Arcade Publishing)
    In the tradition of Cheryl Strayed's Wild, one woman's transformational journey rowing across the savage sea—twice.Just out of college, newly wed, and set up with her husband Curt in a small town in New York, Kathleen Saville quickly realized that an ordinary life working for a better used car and a... [READ MORE]
    < 1 > 

Back to top